Cook Peter



Professor Sir Peter Cook RA, founder of Archigram, former Director the Institute for Contemporary Art, London (the ICA) and Bartlett School of Architecture at University College, London has been a pivotal figure within the global architectural world for over half a century. His ongoing contribution to architectural innovation was most recently recognised via the conferral of an honorary doctorate in April 2010, by the University of Lund, Sweden. Peter’s achievements with radical experimentalist group Archigram have been the subject of numerous publications and public exhibitions and were recognised by the Royal Institute of British Architects in 2004, when members of the group were awarded the RIBA’s highest award, the Royal Gold Medal. In 2007, Peter was knighted by the Queen for his services to architecture. He is also a Royal Academician and a Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et Lettres of the French Republic. Peter is currently a Senior Fellow of the Royal College of Art, London. His professorships include those of the Royal Academy, University College, London and the Hochschule fur Bildende Kunste (Staedelschule) in Frankfurt-Main, Germany. Peter has from the very beginning made waves in architectural circles, however, it is in the last few years that the construction of his arts building in Graz, Austria (the Kunsthaus, AKA The Friendly Alien) has brought his work to a wider public, a process set to continue with the construction of the Vienna Business and Economics University’s new law faculty and Bond Univeristy in Australia’s new School of Architecture. Peter has also built in Osaka, Nagoya, Berlin, Frankfurt and Madrid.

Peter’s continuing work as a lecturer of considerable renown makes him a familiar voice within cultural institutions around the world, where many have enjoyed an opportunity to hear Peter expound (among other subjects) upon his love affair with the slithering, the swarming and the spooky.


2010 Honorary Doctorate of Technology, Lund University

2010 Mario Pani Award for Architecture, Mexico City

2008 Title of the Royal Academy of Arts

2008 Senior Fellow of the Royal College of Art, London

2007 Knighted in Queen’s Honours’ list (for services in archi tecture)

2004 Finalist for Stirling Prize for Kunsthaus Graz, with Colin Fournier

2003 Commandeur de l’ordre des Arts et letters of the France Republic

2002 RIBA Royal Gold Medallist (with Archigram)

2002 RIBA Annie Spink Award, jointly awarded to David Green

2000 Kunsthaus Graz, Austria (with Colin Fournier)

1996 Jean Tschumi Medal, International Union of Architects

1969 Grant awarded by Graham Foundation, Chicago, for Instant City

1965 ‘Young British Designers’ Sunday Times exhibition 1962 Gas Council House Design (First Prize)

1961 Piccadilly Circus Competition (Mention)

1960 Henry Florence Student A.A. (Building Centre research Scholar)


Professor Emeritus at University College London

Professor of Architecture at the Royal Academy of Arts

Life Professor at the Hochschule fur Bildende Kunste (Staedelschule) Frankfurt

Senior Fellow of the Royal College of Art, London Fellow of the Bournemouth Arts University Member of the Hessische Architektenkammer

1990 – 2006: Chair of Architecture of the Bartlett School, University College, London

1970 – 1972: Director of Institute of the Contemporary Arts, London

Teaching : Architectural Association, London 1958-60

Year Master, Unit Master, Tutor: Architectural Association 64-90

Life Professor, HbK ‘Staedelschul;e’, Frankfurtt-am-Main

Emeritus Professor of Architecture, University College London

Royal Academy Professor of Architecture (ongoing)

Fundamentals : Created Knight Batchelor . June 2007

Founder of ‘Archigram’

Honorary Doctor of Technology, Lund University. 2010


Plug-in City 1964-66

Instant City 1969-70

Monte Carlo Entertainments Centre 1971-73

Arcadia City 1979-82

Landstuhl Solar Houses 1984

Layer City 1986

Lutzowplaz Housing, Berlin – completed 1992

Stadelschule Kantine, Frankfurt – completed 1995

Social Housing, Madrid, completed 2012


Archigram Group 1963-1975

PROF. Christine Hawley:1976- 1998

PROF. Colin Fournier: 1998-2004

Gavin Robotham 2004-current


In the framework of :